Playlist: December 2016

IMG_3934.JPG

December: I was sitting in Botanics and an old man started talking to me about ancient ash trees brought over from America. I went to Edinburgh for a day and collected my thoughts among the dead bracken and cracked seedpods in the Botanic Gardens. I carried a Christmas tree home over the bridge on Great Western Road, wrote thousands of words and lay on my floor listening to Bjork and dreaming of fairy lights, the superimposition of each glow and glare over imaginary cityscapes half-borrowed from mid-noughties video games. People gave me mixtapes for Christmas which I’ve cherished with care and reverence, loving even the tracks that skip. I carried enough plates to make my wrists hurt, spinning trays and polishing glasses to a proper sparkle. I threw glitter over things until they started to change, remembering the eyes staring back at me and the way the music would fall through the catacombs of darkness, all the while forgetting the beauty of that drunk feeling. Knee socks, lipstick, tequila, lost garlands. Wrapping things in holograms, I hope for another decent year with all these magic people.

Laura Marling – Soothing

Neutral Milk Hotel – The King of Carrot Flowers Pt. One

Hippo Campus – The Last Snowstorm of the Year

White Baer – The Tide in My Lungs

Sibylle Baier – Says Elliott

Fionn Regan – Lines Written in Winter

Bright Eyes – When the Curious Girl Realises She is under Glass

There Will Be Fireworks – Your House Was Aglow

Minor Victories – Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard)

salvia palth – i was all over her

Sufjan Stevens – Fourth of July

Kirsty MacColl – A New England

Max Richter, Ben Russell, Yuki Numata Resnick – Dream 3 (In the Midst Of My Life)

Angel Olsen – White Water

Portico Quartet – 4096 Colours

Kinbrae – Constellations

Leave a Reply

