Playlist: January 2017

img_3607

This month has definitely flown in. I’ve had dreams about drowning, about my skin unravelling like a snake’s, dried husky layers shedding to a carpet furry with dust. I’ve been back at uni and making myself busy, saying yes to things. Got started on new projects and camping out late in the library, devouring poems and scouring the corners of the internet for theory. Mostly I’ve been at gigs. Lots of brilliant gigs, including Wuh Oh, Kelora, Letherette@SPAMzine launch, Pictish Trail, Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire, Martha Ffion, Fair Mothers & Kathryn Joseph and last but certainly not least, Rachel Sermanni. Wow, it’s so nice to have a good list of gigs. I think it got me through and I didn’t even feel much of the January blues. Well, just bouts of it. Shadows. Maybe all the leftover chocolate coins helped, or gradually becoming nocturnal again. Right now my right ear basically doesn’t work, like I’ve woken up with the inside of a seashell instead and all I can hear is a dull white noise. Music sounds funny, but anyway, here’s a very incoherent playlist:

Roddy Hart & the Lonesome Fire – Berlin

Pronto Mama – Arabesque

oOoOO – Without Your Love

Cocainejesus – We Won’t Make It out Alive

Air – Moon Fever

Clarence Clarity – SAME

Boards of Canada – 84 Pontiac Dream

Kurt Vile – Pretty Boy (Randy Newman)

Nightwaves – She’s Electric

Oneohtrix Point Never – Months

Withered Hand – Love in the Time of Ecstasy

Laura Marling – Wild Fire

Johnny Flynn – Raising the Dead

Night Moves – Maria

Martha Ffion – Red Letter Day

Kid Canaveral – Lives Never Lived

Verse Metrics – My Name is Dr. Hildegarde Lanstrom and I am Quite, Quite Mad

Hieroglyphic Being – The Disco’s Of Imhotep

letherette – After Dawn

Leave a Reply

